New legislative map puts Wrangell, Ketchikan, Petersburg together


September 16, 2021

Working to carve up Alaska into 40 legislative districts of approximately equal population, a state board has released its draft maps based on the 2020 U.S. Census that move Wrangell, Petersburg and Ketchikan into the same House district.

Wrangell has shared a district with Ketchikan the past decade, while Petersburg has been part of the Sitka district.

Population shifts, particularly increases in the Matanuska-Susitna Borough, forced the Alaska Redistricting Board to move boundaries across the state to keep legislative districts roughly equal in population size.

The combined population of...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 02/21/2024 06:09