By Sean Maguire
Anchorage Daily News 

Legislative term-limit supporters try to get initiative on the Alaska ballot


A newly filed ballot measure would set term limits for lawmakers serving in the Alaska Legislature.

State legislators would be restricted to serving a maximum of 12 years consecutively in the state House or Senate, and they then would be required to take a six-year break before serving again. They would also be limited to serving for a lifetime maximum of 20 years as members of the Legislature.

Sixteen other states have term limits for state legislators, including California, Florida and Ohio. Alaska governors are already limited by the state constitution to serving two four-year terms consecu...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/27/2024 22:07