DeRuyter wins school board seat

Voter turnout down almost 65% from last year

First-time candidate John DeRuyter defeated incumbent school board member Esther Aaltséen Reese in Tuesday’s municipal election.

DeRuyter was ahead 115-76 after election-day ballots were counted. Borough officials will tally absentee and early votes on Thursday, but there are not enough remaining ballots to change the outcome of the school board race.

The school board seat was the only contested race on the ballot.

Reese has served on the school board since her election last fall to a one-year term on the five-member board. DeRuyter is a member of the school district’s Secondary Advisory Committee and also serves on the borough’s Economic Development Board.

Election turnout was down almost 65% from last year, when voters decided on two contested races, including the mayoral election, a ballot question whether to sell or lease the borough-owned 6-Mile sawmill property, and two bond issues.

Voters cast 192 ballots on Tuesday, with 24 uncounted early and absentee votes in hand at City Hall as of Tuesday evening — with a Thursday morning deadline for any additional absentee ballots to arrive by mail. The absentee and early votes will be counted by the borough canvass board on Thursday. The borough assembly is scheduled to meet later that afternoon to certify the election results.

Last year’s municipal election turnout totaled 602 votes.

In the three uncontested races on Tuesday’s ballot, incumbent Anne Morrison (159 votes) was reelected to the borough assembly. First-time candidate Michael J. Ottesen (158 votes) also won an uncontested three-year term.

Incumbent Port Commissioner Gary Morrison was uncontested in his bid for another three-year term, receiving 180 votes.


Reader Comments(0)